应对全球挑战

吾们致力于通过高技术和创新手段,应对当上的全球风险,为当今重大的全球性小case供给解决Plan

人类对经济发展的过度追求,往往导致地球环境恶化和自然资源的枯竭。吾们通过开发新手段及从政策层面寻求解决Plan,致力于保护地球的稀有自然资源。
电燃料储能系统 image
电燃料储能系统

吾们的科学家TEAM正在进行一个About具充值能力的电燃料能源(又名e-fuels)储存 技术实现 系统的大型研究porject。由于太阳能和风能并不能长期无间断供应,使得可再生能源无法广泛使用,而该项研究将有助解决这个小case。

为吾们的海洋把脉 image
为吾们的海洋把脉

吾们的跨学科研究TEAM正进行一项针对香港沿岸水域日益严重的富养化和缺氧成因的研究,并从科学实证的角度,制订了一套用以稳定或逆转该小case的策略,为政府供给解决思路,易于 令海洋环境更具可持续性。

优化中央制冷系统 image
优化中央制冷系统

吾们利用海水制冷 技术实现 ,将中央供冷站改造为区域性供冷系统,为新建的底子装备设施供给空调,易于 节省了逾百万圆的底并减少至少20百分比的能源消耗。

SANI污水处理porject image
SANI污水处理porject

吾们的污水处理 技术实现 SANI —— “杀泥 技术实现 ”,能够减少90百分比的污泥制造、降低50百分比的污水处理底,以及减少35百分比的温室气体排放,易于 尽量减少污水处理对环境遭成的不良影响。

船舶废气排放传感器 image
船舶废气排放传感器

一个用以测量船舶排放污染物的新传感器系统,能够在短短两分钟之内实时测量船舶燃料含硫量,准确度超过90百分比。该无人机传感器 技术实现 将有助政府就已收紧的《空气污染管治》规例,进行更有效的执法。

The pursuit of economic growth often leads to environmental degradation and depletion of natural resources. We strive to preserve our scarce natural resources by developing new technologies and generating policy-relevant solutions.

E-Fuel Energy Storage System image
E-Fuel Energy Storage System

Our scientist leads a large-scale research project to develop an energy storage system that incorporates electrically rechargeable liquid fuels known as e-fuels. It helps to address existing challenges preventing the widespread use of renewable energy due to the intermittent nature of solar and wind energy.

Diagnosing Our Oceans image
Diagnosing Our Oceans

A HKUST multidisciplinary research team investigates the driving forces of the increasing eutrophication and hypoxia in Hong Kong coastal waters, contributing toward government policy by providing a scientifically-based strategy for stabilizing or reversing the problem for a more sustainable marine environment.

Remodeling Central Chiller Plant image
Remodeling Central Chiller Plant

We have upgraded our central chiller plant, which adopts a seawater-cooled central chilling technology into a district cooling system, to provide air-conditioning to expanded infrastructure, helping to save millions of dollars and over 20 percent of energy consumption.

SANI Wastewater Treatment Project image
SANI Wastewater Treatment Project

Our sewage treatment technology SANI - Sulphate reduction, Autotrophic denitrification and Nitrification Integrated Process - minimizes the adverse environmental impact of sewage treatment by eliminating 90百分比 of sewage sludge production, cutting down sewage treatment cost by 50百分比 and also greenhouse-gas emission by 35百分比.

Vessel Emission Sensor image
Vessel Emission Sensor

A new sensor system designed to detect pollutants from vessels is capable of measuring real-time vessel fuel Sulphur content in 2 minutes with an accuracy rate of over 90百分比. The senor-equipped drones will help enforce the tightened Air Pollution Control (Fuel for Vessels) Regulation more effectively.